India vs Australia: All you need to know about the 2023 Cricket World Cup final

World Cup final

The stage is set for the biggest clash of the year as India and Australia face each other in the final of the 2023 Cricket World Cup. The two teams have been the most dominant and consistent in the tournament and will be eager to lift the coveted trophy at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19. Here are some of the key details and facts about the match that you should not miss.

World Cup final

How to watch the match live on TV and online?

The India vs Australia final will be broadcast live on the Star Sports Network on TV from 7:30 pm IST onwards. You can also watch the live streaming of the match for free on Disney+Hotstar on mobile. If you are outside India, you can catch the action on various channels and platforms depending on your region. For example, in Australia, you can watch the match on 9Now or Fox Cricket, in the UK on Sky Sports, in the US on Willow TV, and in Canada on Hotstar Canada. You can also follow the live score and updates on or

What are the strengths and weaknesses of the two teams?

India and Australia have both shown their prowess in all aspects of the game throughout the tournament. India has a formidable batting line-up, led by captain Virat Kohli, who is the leading run-scorer of the tournament with 673 runs at an average of 84.12. He is supported by the likes of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, and Hardik Pandya, who can all change the course of the game with their explosive hitting. India also have a balanced bowling attack, with Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Ravindra Jadeja being the main wicket-takers. India’s only weakness could be their middle order, which has not been tested much in the tournament, and their fielding, which has been sloppy at times.

Australia, on the other hand, has a solid top order, with David Warner, Aaron Finch, and Steve Smith being the pillars of their batting. Warner is the second-highest run-scorer of the tournament with 647 runs at an average of 80.87. Smith has also been in sublime form, scoring 589 runs at an average of 84.14. Australia also has a potent bowling attack, with Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, and Adam Zampa being the main threats. Starc is the leading wicket-taker of the tournament with 27 wickets at an average of 18.07. Australia’s weakness could be their lack of depth in their batting, as they rely heavily on their top three, and their spin department, which has not been very effective in the Indian conditions.

What are the key battles to watch out for?

The final will feature some of the best players in the world, and there will be some intriguing contests between them. Here are some of the key battles to watch out for:

  • Virat Kohli vs Mitchell Starc: The two captains and the best batsmen and bowlers of the tournament will be up against each other in a high-stakes duel. Kohli has a good record against Starc, scoring 191 runs off 194 balls and getting out only twice in ODIs. However, Starc can swing the ball at pace and trouble any batsman with his yorkers and bouncers. It will be interesting to see who comes out on top in this clash of the titans.
  • David Warner vs Jasprit Bumrah: The two openers and the most destructive and consistent batsmen of the tournament will face each other in a battle of skill and temperament. Warner has been in sensational form, scoring four centuries and two fifties in the tournament. He has also scored the most boundaries (86) and sixes (21) in the tournament. Bumrah, on the other hand, has been the most economical and lethal bowler of the tournament, conceding only 4.41 runs per over and taking 23 wickets at an average of 19.56. He has also bowled the most dot balls (300) and the most maidens (9) in the tournament. It will be a fascinating contest between the aggressor and the defender, the hitter and the yorker specialist, the left-hander and the right-arm pacer.
  • Steve Smith vs Ravindra Jadeja: The two all-rounders and the most reliable and versatile players of the tournament will face each other in a battle of technique and intelligence. Smith has been the backbone of Australia’s batting, scoring runs in all conditions and against all types of bowling. He has also been the most consistent batsman of the tournament, scoring six fifties and one century in nine innings. On the other hand, Jadeja has been the most valuable player of the tournament, contributing with both bat and ball. He has scored 237 runs at an average of 59.25 and a strike rate of 121.53 and has taken 15 wickets at an average of 25.86 and an economy rate of 4.68. He has also been the best fielder of the tournament, taking 12 catches and effecting four run-outs. It will be a captivating contest between the master and the magician, the right-hander and the left-arm spinner, the anchor and the finisher.

What are the possible playing XIs and the pitch and weather conditions?

The two teams are likely to stick to their winning combinations unless there are any injuries or fitness issues. The possible playing XIs are:

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli ©, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch ©, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

The pitch at the Narendra Modi Stadium is expected to be a good one for batting, with some assistance for the spinners as the game progresses. The average first innings score at the venue in ODIs is 260, and the highest total is 413, scored by India against Bermuda in 2007. The weather is expected to be clear and sunny, with no chances of rain. The temperature is expected to be around 30 degrees Celsius, with moderate humidity and wind.

What are the stakes and the history of the two teams in the World Cup?

The stakes are high for both teams, as they aim to add another World Cup trophy to their cabinet. India has won the World Cup twice, in 1983 and 2011, and has reached the final three times, in 1983, 2003, and 2011. Australia have won the World Cup five times, in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015, and have reached the final seven times, in 1975, 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015. The two teams have faced each other 11 times in the World Cup, with Australia winning eight and India winning three. The last time they met in the World Cup was in the 2019 semi-final, where India beat Australia by 36 runs.

The final will be a clash of the Titans, as the two best teams of the tournament, and arguably the two best teams in the world will fight for the ultimate glory. It will be a spectacle of skill, talent, passion, and drama, as the world will witness the crowning of the new world champions.

By Kane Wilson

Kane Wilson, founder of this news website, is a seasoned news editor renowned for his analytical skills and meticulous approach to storytelling. His journey in journalism began as a local reporter, and he quickly climbed the ranks due to his talent for unearthing compelling stories. Kane completed his Master’s degree in Media Studies from Northwestern University and spent several years in broadcast journalism prior to co-founding this platform. His dedication to delivering unbiased news and ability to present complex issues in an easily digestible format make him an influential voice in the industry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts